Finding a Family

Image

It is Monday afternoon, and I am struggling once again with a topic to blog about. During the rest of the week, I find many things I would like to say, and then have a brain freeze when it comes time to write. So, I am asking for some of you who read this blog to respond to my email, lionlamb61@yahoo.com, with some questions/topics you would like to see me cover. I try not to hide behind obscurity, so I am willing to tackle most any topics.

As I look out the window I see the effects of the wind, bending branches in the trees that are newly leafed out, and thinking what a beautiful landscape I have in Northwest Iowa. Mother’s Day weekend was a perfect time to do a little landscaping at the parsonage, and I was able to go to a greenhouse with Sue to pick out some flowers and tomatoes to plant. I have been here for almost two years, and other than the distance it is from my children and other family members, it is soooooo great to be here. I continue to be encouraged by the many people I see around town. I am blessed with a wonderful church family that has helped me to wade through the grief and busyness of the past few months. What a joy it is to serve God here!

As I visit with couples before marriage I try to encourage them to get involved in a church family together. Because I know, and have experienced firsthand recently, the necessity of having others praying for us when times are tough. And as we travel through valleys, the church family is there. When we are on the mountaintop, the church family celebrates with us. If you have not experienced this firsthand, I would encourage you to immerse yourself into a church for fellowship (not just worship, but total involvement in a study, work area, or small group). And come to know Jesus on a personal level. He will provide the right people at the right times. He has for me.

May you be enriched by your relationship with Christ. If you do not have one, let’s talk. I know he is waiting for you!

Pastor Kevin

About Pastor Kevin

Pastor Kevin has been a minister with the United Methodist Church since 1987. He has just come on staff with the Sheldon United Methodist Church this past July. He and his wife, Sue, have five children and one beautiful grandson, Matthew.

Leave a Reply

