Credo: Part 2

Image

Part two of my Credo is what I believe about Jesus. As a firm believer in the truth presented in the New Testament of Jesus Christ, I believe that Jesus was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit. In Luke we hear how the angel appeared to Mary while she was engaged to Joseph, and announce she was chosen to become the mother of God. I believe that is what happened. And as she gave birth to her firstborn, she had confirmation this was the Son of God in many ways.

Jesus grew up in the area of Nazareth, was baptized in the Jordan River, and was led by the Holy Spirit into the desert for preparation of his most intimate walk with his Heavenly Father. Jesus, as the Son of God, taught, healed, forgave, pushed the buttons of the “religious authorities,” and above all listened to his heavenly Father. Jesus prayed often, and he taught us that prayer is our intimate conversation with God.

Jesus was arrested, suffered at the hands of Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. On the third day he rose from the dead and appeared to the women, then to his disciples, and then to many people at one time. He ascended into heaven, and will return again when the clouds open.

Jesus is my Lord, meaning that I have committed to submit my life to him as much as possible. I stumble and fall, and try to make decisions on my own, but Jesus is still with me. He is not only my savior; he is also the Christ of God. Jesus built the church on Peter’s confession that he is the Christ the Son of the Living God.

I believe that Jesus is given the authority by God to make judgment on each human being. Those who believe in Him as Lord will not face condemnation, because he came into the world so that the world may be saved through him.

This is a beginning of what I believe about Jesus Christ.

Pastor Kevin

About Pastor Kevin

Pastor Kevin has been a minister with the United Methodist Church since 1987. He has just come on staff with the Sheldon United Methodist Church this past July. He and his wife, Sue, have five children and one beautiful grandson, Matthew.

Leave a Reply

