Credo: Part 1

Image

I believe. It is a statement of faith. As the Sheldon United Methodist Church confirmation class nears its completion, we are in the midst of writing our Credo. A Credo is a statement of creed defining what we believe. Each year I ask the confirmation students to study and memorize the Apostle’s Creed, which is an old Credo dating back to the Roman Catholic Church. The creed is a statement about God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit, and a statement about the church.

Recently my brother Ron died. I have already experienced the death of another older brother and my mother, as well as several other close relatives and even an infant great-nephew. The recent loss has caused me to reflect on my own Credo. I want my children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren… to know what I believe.   I am ready to begin writing down the important elements of my belief. So over the next few blogs I hope to include some of my personal faith statement.

First, I believe in God the Father, creator of heaven and earth. I look to Genesis and find the creative power of God demonstrated in chapters 1 and 2. Some say these are two different stories, but I believe they are two ways of telling the story of creation as God planned. And in John 1 we read, “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the word was God…The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us…” In Psalm 139, the psalmist speaks of the creative power of God as we are knit together in our mother’s womb. And so I believe that God created heaven and earth. That God spoke, and the Word created, and the Holy Spirit breathed and established life. Therefore the three attributes of God – Father, Son, and Holy Spirit – were present at the beginning (actually they have always been, and will forever be; they were not created). That is why the verse says let us make them into “our” image. And we were created in the image of God.

The same God who created the heavens and earth is still actively creating, and He created you and me. Along with creating us, God gave to us a freedom to choose to believe in Him and follow Him, or to dismiss the idea of God. It is our choice. I choose to also believe that God is our Father, because when Jesus taught the disciples to pray, he said pray then like this, “Our Father…” and Jesus referred to God as “Abba, Father” many times. Therefore, through the scriptures, I have come to believe in God the Father, the creator of the heavens and earth. God the Father is the creator who continues to live and create, and provide life to each of us.

I will continue next time.

Pastor Kevin Gingerich

About Pastor Kevin

Pastor Kevin has been a minister with the United Methodist Church since 1987. He has just come on staff with the Sheldon United Methodist Church this past July. He and his wife, Sue, have five children and one beautiful grandson, Matthew.

Leave a Reply

